Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: Waterfall
Series: Teeardrop #2
Author: Lauren Kate
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: Oct 2014
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis from Goodreads

Eureka’s tears have flooded the earth and now Atlantis is rising, along with its evil king, Atlas. Eureka is the only one who can stop him – but first she must learn how to fight.

She travels across the ocean with Ander to try and make sense of the dark world her sorrow has created. But dark secrets are hidden in the depths – will she be strong enough to defeat Atlas, or is her broken heart just what he needs to power his rising kingdom?

Eureka has the chance to save the world. But she’ll have to give up on everything – even love . . .


Waterfall is the second in a series called The Teardrop Saga, the series needs to be read in order to fully understand the details of the plot . It is based on the idea of Atlantis being a horrible underground city that can only be risen if the main character; Eureka cries.

The book tells a story of a young girl whose mother died- Eureka now lives with her father, step-mother and their twins; Claire and William. Something strange has happened to her best friend Brooks, and she feels it her duty to find out what. Later on she realises that someone has been watching and following her after crashing into her car and giving her a ride home.

I think that this book is incredibly good and I really enjoyed it; the ending was not predictable and it made me think which I like in a book. I think that it is very well written and was interesting in the way that it kept changing whose point of view it was from, this gives you a lot of different perspectives and lets you get a much better understanding of what is going on.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes paranormal romance books- I would say that it would be suitable for anyone 11+ as some parts are a little sad. I would give this book 5 stars as I really enjoyed it and can’t wait until the next in the series comes out.