Review: The Beautiful and The Cursed by Page Morgan

Image from Publisher

Image from Publisher

Title: The Beautiful and the Cursed
Series: The Dispossessed
Author: Page Morgan
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Publication Date: 2 May 2013
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 3.5/5

Synopsis from Publisher

Ingrid Waverley is a young woman to be reckoned with. Faced with her brother’s mysterious disappearance after an abrupt move to Paris, she is determined to discover what has happened to him. Soon she and her sister Gabriella are drawn into a Parisian underworld more terrifying than they could ever have imagined, but watching over them are two impossible (and impossibly handsome) young men. Luc is a ‘Dispossessed’, an ancient gargoyle whose sworn duty it is to protect the humans who inhabit his abbey. Nolan has secrets of his own too. He is a member of the Alliance – a shadowy group dedicated to keeping Paris safe from the demonic forces that threaten to destroy it.

Secrets, danger and hidden powers stalk the girls in this beautifully imagined paranormal romance that will keep readers gripped from beginning to end – and one thing is for sure – you’ll never look at a gargoyle in the same way again…

REVIEW BY BETH

I accepted this novel because it’s described as a must-read for fans of Libba Bray and I am definitely a fan of Libba Bray. Page Morgan’s novel has an interesting theme, plenty of climactic cliff-hangers and intriguing hints to keep the reader engaged.

I’m not a big fantasy/paranormal reader so those elements of the novel, which are of course plentiful, didn’t particularly do it for me but I have no doubt they’d be a huge hit with anyone who does love the genre as Morgan simply writes so engagingly.

Morgan immerses her readers into late 19th century Paris and mixes it up with the introduction of gargoyles. Yes, gargoyles. They are the protectors of the humans in this area of France and are fascinatingly created, showing Morgan’s brilliant and creative imagination. The novel sees Ingrid, the leading human character in the novel looks for her brother Grayson whilst dealing with her own personal shames, one of the reasons the whole family upped sticks and moved to Paris in the first place.

Despite some of the key elements of the plot not being to my taste (gargoyles and monsters etc are really not my thing) I simply can’t knock Morgan’s talent and her ability to create a dark and brooding scene as well as a fast moving plot which is engaging. Her characters are fantastic too, with a touch of forbidden romance which also goes down well.

Fans of the genre will not be able to put this book down.

Previous

Spotlight & Give-Away: Tragic by J A Huss

Next

Review: Unravelling by Elizabeth Norris

1 Comment

  1. Avatar

    This sounds so good – I haven’t read anything paranormal in ages!!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén