Book Angel Booktopia

Book Angel Booktopia -

Tantalising Trailers: Hostage by Chris Bradford

Trailers

Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: Hostage
Series: Bodyguard #1
Author: Chris Bradford
Publisher: Puffin
Publication Date:  2 May 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads

ASSESS THE THREAT.
COUNTER THE DANGER.
ESCAPE THE KILLZONE.

In a dangerous world, everyone needs protection. 

No one suspects that a teenager could protect someone – but Connor Reeves is no ordinary 14 year old. He’s a professional bodyguard trained in surveillance, anti-ambush techniques, hostage survival and unarmed combat. When he’s summoned to protect the President’s daughter, his protection skills face the ultimate test.

Alicia doesn’t want to be guarded. She just wants to have fun. With no clue that Connor is her bodyguard, she tries to escape the Secret Service and lead him astray. But unknown to her and Connor, a terrorist sleeper cell has been activated. 

Its mission: to take the President’s daughter HOSTAGE

This is high on my library wish-list. Perfect for fans of Alex Ryder, Cris Ryan and Robert Muchamore :)

Tantalizing Trailers: Dangerous by Shannon Hale

Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: Dangerous
Author: Shannon Hale
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Publication Date: 10 April 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads

Maisie Danger Brown just wanted to get away from home for a bit, see something new. She never intended to fall in love. And she never imagined stumbling into a frightening plot that kills her friends and just might kill her, too. A plot that is already changing life on Earth as we know it. There’s no going back. She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.

From NY Times bestselling author Shannon Hale comes a novel that asks, How far would you go to save the ones you love? And how far would you go to save everyone else?

On my library wish-list :)

Tantalizing Trailers: The Rule of Three by Eric Walters

Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: The Rule of Three
Author: Eric Walters
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication Date: 21 Jan 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads

One shocking afternoon, computers around the globe shut down in a viral catastrophe. At sixteen-year-old Adam Daley’s high school, the problem first seems to be a typical electrical outage, until students discover that cell phones are down, municipal utilities are failing, and a few computer-free cars like Adam’s are the only vehicles that function. Driving home, Adam encounters a storm tide of anger and fear as the region becomes paralyzed. Soon—as resources dwindle, crises mount, and chaos descends—he will see his suburban neighborhood band together for protection. And Adam will understand that having a police captain for a mother and a retired government spy living next door are not just the facts of his life but the keys to his survival, in The Rule of Three by Eric Walters.

Firmly on my library wish-list :)

Tantalizing Trailers: The Wicked We Have Done by Sarah Harian

trailer

Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: The Wicked We Have Done
Series: Chaos Theory #1
Author: Sarah Harian
Publisher: Penguin US
Publication Date: 18 March 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads

Evalyn Ibarra never expected to be an accused killer and experimental prison test subject. A year ago, she was a normal college student. Now she’s been sentenced to a month in the compass room—an advanced prison obstacle course designed by the government to execute justice.

If she survives, the world will know she’s innocent.

Locked up with nine notorious and potentially psychotic criminals, Evalyn must fight the prison and dismantle her past to stay alive. But the system prized for accuracy appears to be killing at random.

She doesn’t plan on making friends.

She doesn’t plan on falling in love, either.

Check out the fabulous post on NA by the author HERE

Author Interview HERE

Tantalizing Trailers: The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: The Demon King
Series: Seven Realms #1
Author: Cinda Williams Chima
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: 5 Aug 2010

Synopsis from Goodreads

Times are hard in the mountain city of Fellsmarch, and reformed thief Han Alister must rely on all his skills to provide for his mother and his sister.

While out hunting one day, Han and his Clan friend, Dancer, discover three young wizards using a magical amulet to set fire to the sacred mountain of Hanalea. Han wrestles it from them, but without realising that his heroism has put him and his family in great danger. For the young arsonist is Micah Bayar, son of the High Wizard, and the amulet a treasure with immense power; it once belonged to the Demon King, the legendary wizard who nearly destroyed the world a millennium ago. The Bayars will stop at nothing to get it back.

Meanwhile, Raisa ana’Marianna, Princess Heir of the Fells, has just returned to the city after spending three years with her father’s Clan in the mountains. She aspires to be like Hanalea, the legendary warrior-queen who vanquished the Demon King and saved the world, but her mother has other plans for her – plans that will put both the queendom and Raisa’s future in great danger. The Seven Realms will tremble when the adventures of Han and Raisa collide in this stunning new page-turner from bestselling author Cinda Williams Chima.

On my list of recommendations for YA High Fantasy :)