Book Angel Booktopia

Book Angel Booktopia -

Musical Moments: Song of the Month chosen by Claire LaZebnik

bookangelmusical

I have read every single book Claire has written, I love her take on Jane Austen and how well she captures the themes of the original stories in the narrative while making it relatable to teens today. To say I’m excited for this song would be an understatement :)

18602796

Image from Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY

Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too….

With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

My choice for Song of the Month is Rickie Lee Jones’s Company. It’s kind of an old song—I’ve been listening to it for (gulp) a few decades now—but for me, it perfectly captures the wistful quality of the The Last Best Kiss.

In my novel, Anna makes a pretty big mistake and loses the trust of the person she cares about most. She misses Finn a lot, but because the fault was hers, she’s not angry, just sad. She feels the pang of lost conversations, shared moments she’ll never know again, the memory of a friendship that turned to love . . . She wants to redeem herself, but she doesn’t know if she’ll succeed.

The first few lines of the Rickie Lee Jones song capture Anna’s feelings so perfectly for me!

I’ll remember you too clearly

But I’ll survive another day.

Conversations to share

When there’s no one there,

I’ll imagine what you’d say.

It’s also just a beautiful, beautiful song.

Musical Moments: Song of the Month: Chosen by Jen McLaughlin

Image received from InkSlingerPR

Image received from InkSlingerPR

Title: Between Us
Series: Sex on the Beach
Author: Jen McLaughlin
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: 4 March 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads

I’m just a girl…

I’m a famous country star who’s spent her life cultivating a good girl persona to avoid bad press, but I’ve reached my limit. I’m going away for spring break with my two best friends from college, and we’ve vowed to spend the vacation seeking out fun in the sun—along with some hot, no-strings-attached sex. The only thing I needed was the perfect guy, and then I met Austin Murphy. He might be totally wrong for me, but the tattooed bad boy is hard to resist. When I’m in his arms, everything just feels right.

And I’m just a guy…

I’m just a bartender who lives in Key West, stuck in an endless cycle of boredom. But then Mackenzie Forbes, America’s Sweetheart herself, comes up to me and looks at me with those bright green eyes…and everything changes. She acts like she’s just a normal girl and I’m just a normal guy, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. My past isn’t pretty, you know. I did what I had to do to survive, and she’d run if she learned the truth about my darkness. But with her, I’m finally realizing what it’s like to be alive. To laugh, live, and be happy.

All good things must come to an end…

Love Story by Taylor Swift

This song inspired both the book, Between Us, and the main character, Mackenzie Forbes. Or, I should say, Taylor Swift did, in particular! I was writing another book, and Pandora was playing a lot of Taylor Swift for me that day. As I wrote, a plot formed in my mind. There was a country star, Mackenzie Forbes, and a bad boy rocker, Austin Murphy. They meet on a starry night, and sparks instantly fly. And, man, it’s a love story all right. Listen to the song, read the book, and let me know if you agree! <3

Musical Moments: Song of the Month: February 2014 – Chosen by Nacole Stayton

bookangelmusical

Image from Goodreads

Image from Goodreads

Title: In the Lyrics
Author: Nacole Stayton
Publisher: Self Published
Publication Date: 7 Feb 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads

Hensley Bradley is the definition of the girl-next-door. She’s kindhearted, beautiful, and talented. Bored with her mundane life, thoughts of fleeing her small town begin to consume her. With aspiring dreams to use her voice as a one-way ticket, she suddenly discovers that music might not be her only passion.

After a fallout back home, Colby Grant decides to leave his family’s farm, determined to show his father he’s more than just a wanna-be country singer. With his All-American good looks, it doesn’t take long for girls in his new town to focus their eyes on him. But things aren’t what they appear from the outside, and it isn’t long until Colby feels he doesn’t fit into the perfect world that so quickly embraced him.

A chance encounter places Hensley in Colby’s path, but it isn’t her natural beauty that first captures his attention – it’s her voice.

When love and music mix, will the combination blossom into a beautiful melody or wither into a heart-wrenching tune?

Warning: This book is intended for readers 18+

This song captures the raw emotion of In the Lyrics perfectly. It struck me the very first time I listened to it and it’s been replaying in my head every sense.

“…scared of what’s behind you, scared of what’s in front, live with what you have now and make the best of what’s to come…”

Like the song says, sometimes you just have to move on and look into the future. Colby and Hensley’s true happiness is worth the wait!

paragraph divider 18

Be sure to check out my reivew on the 10th as part of the In the Lyrics Bog Tour

Musical Moments: Song of the Month – November 2013 – Chosen by Molly McAdams

bookangelmusical

I am SUPER EXCITED to welcome Molly McAdams to Book Angel Booktopia today to share the song that goes with Forgiving Lies (although I have to say I’m still not sure I’ve forgiven her for the whole Chase thing, just so you know) ;)

Image Received from Publisher

Image Received from Publisher

Without a doubt, the song that best describes FORGIVING LIES is Fall Into Me by Brantley Gilbert. This song was able to weave its way into the book a couple times because it perfectly describes Rachel and Kash, and their relationship.

 

Rachel has some trust issues, and while Kash is always pushing to break down her walls, he’s there for her, no matter what. He’ll wait for her until she’s ready; because he knows, despite her tough façade, she is fragile and can easily break.

I just can’t listen to this song without thinking about Rachel and Kash and getting goose bumps. :)

paragraph divider 18

SWOON – it’s utterly perfect

paragraph divider 18

FULL PLAYLIST HERE:

Forgiving Lies

Image Received from Publisher

Image Received from Publisher